How to Get Started Using Workspaces


Workspaces make it easier to find information when working on complex sites with many design and measurement files and folders. You can create a separate space to organize relevant measurements and designs specific to a team or project.

How to access and organize workspaces

Every site automatically has a Default workspace available in the MEASURE and DESIGNS tabs. You can rename the ‘Default workspace and add a new workspace from here. 

There must be at least one workspace available; therefore, you cannot delete the Default workspace.

Workspaces_DESIGNS_MEASURE_tab.png

Add or rename a workspace

Add a new workspace

Only Admins or users who have the Create Workspace permission can create workspaces.

Anyone with Manage Access permission or Admin permissions can grant other people the ability to create workspaces by assigning them the Create Workspace permission

Click the + button. Give your new workspace a name and click ADD. Workspaces_ADD.png

Workspaces_AddNew_Name.png

Rename a workspace

Click the three-dot menu next to the workspace and select Rename. Workspaces_Rename_or_Delete.png

Update the name and click SAVE. Workspaces_Rename.png

Add information to a workspace

Any data in the MEASURE and DESIGNS tabs, including entire folders, can be added by simply dragging and dropping it in the workspace.

Workspaces Drag and Drop.gif

You can also drag and drop bulk measurements or folders into a workspace. 

On a PC

Hold down the Ctrl key on your keyboard and click on each measurement or folder you want to move. Then, drag them into the desired workspace.

On a Mac

Hold the shift and Command key on your keyboard and select each measurement or folder you want to move. Then, drag them into the desired workspace. 

Multiselect Workspaces.gif

Linking

If you need to share the same design with more than one group, you can Link the original design to another workspace. This will allow anyone using other workspaces to see the design and create measurements against the same design.

NOTE: Linking a design to other workspaces does not duplicate the design file and thus does not add additional data to your site.

From the DESIGNS tab, click the three-dot menu next to the design or design folder you want to link and choose Link to another workspace.

Workspaces Link to Another Workspace.png

From the pop-up window, select the Destination workspace from the dropdown menu.

Link Destination Workspace.png

Once a design file or folder is linked to another workspace, you can create volume and cross-section measurements and perform surface comparisons.

Any measurement created in a workspace is only viewable in that workspace. If you don’t see the measurement you’re looking for, please verify you’re in the correct workspace.

You can tell if a design is already linked to another workspace when you see the link icon next to the design’s name.

Linked Icon.png

Alternatively, the linking dialogue window will show you which workspaces the design or folder is already linked to.

Linked Status.png

Remove a file or folder from a workspace

If you accidentally add a file or folder to the wrong workspace, you can drag it back into the Default workspace or the correct workspace.

Remove file from Workspace.gif

Delete a workspace

Click the three-dot menu next to the workspace and select Delete. You will be asked to confirm before the workspace is deleted.

Workspaces_ConfirmDelete.png

Deleting a Workspace will delete all measurements and designs included with that Workspace across all Workspaces. 

FAQs

How are workspaces organized?

Workspaces are organized alphabetically at the top of the MEASURE and DESIGNS tabs. When opening a site, you’ll automatically be taken to the most recently used workspace. If you haven’t created or renamed any workspaces, you’ll automatically be taken to the Default workspace.

Tip: If you need a workspace to be first in the list, you can add an underscore or a number to the beginning of the workspace name. For example, Master Designs will become _Master Designs or 01 Master Designs.

Force Workspace to Top.png

Who can create and manage workspaces?

Only users who have the new Create Workspace permission can create workspaces. 

Who can view and access workspaces?

Workspaces are accessible by all users on the site; however, the user's permissions level dictates what they can or cannot do in that workspace. For example, if you have the Inspect permission, you can do everything the Inspect permission allows you to across all workspaces.

What types of files or folders can be added to a workspace?

Workspaces contain measurements and designs. All datasets are available in all workspaces. Designs in one workspace can be linked to other workspaces, making them available to use again without the need to re-upload them.

Who can delete a workspace?

Anyone with Create Workspace permission, including site owners and admins, can delete a workspace.

Who can rename a workspace?

Anyone with Create Workspace permissions, including site owners and admins, can rename a workspace.

What happens to data within a workspace when a workspace is deleted?

You’ll need to confirm that you want to delete the workspace. If you do, all data within the workspace will be deleted, including designs linked to other locations. This will affect workspaces that rely on the linked design.

How many workspaces can I create?

There is no limit to the number of workspaces you can create.

Does search work across all my workspaces?

No. You can only search within individual workspaces. However, your search term will remain in the search bar, eliminating the need to re-type your search term when clicking into each workspace.

Can links be automatically created?

Yes. Links can also be automatically created under certain circumstances.

  • When you move a design to another workspace, you can either move the design completely or create links to the design so that any measurements that depend on that design will continue to work.

Automatic Links.png

  • When you move a measurement to a new workspace, a link to any design file that the measurement depends on will be created in the new workspace.

If I have a folder linked to other workspaces and then make changes to that folder (for example, rename it, add/remove items), will those changes also occur to the other workspaces?

Yes. This gives you control over the designs other people have access to. For example, you can create a folder of “master” designs and link it to all relevant workspaces. As long as you keep that folder up to date with the most recent designs, you can be sure that anyone using designs from that folder will be up to date. If a file in that folder is deprecated, you can delete the file, and it will be deleted everywhere, ensuring no one is working with outdated information.

How do I know what workspaces a design or folder is already linked to?

If you click the link option in the three-dot menu, you will see the linking dialogue window. This window will show you which workspaces the design or folder is already linked to.

Now that you've learned how to use workspaces read our tips and tricks to help you organize measurements and designs to make it easier to find information when working on complex sites with many design and measurement files and folders.


I still can't do it!

We wrote these articles to equip you with everything you need to get the job done on your own, but we understand that sometimes this isn't sufficient.

If you're stuck, you can connect with our support team by clicking the support button on the top right corner of your user portal.

Related to